top of page
  • thechoppingblock

Black Bean Burgers

These burgers are perfect for Summer cookouts or even make-ahead lunches. I'm actually using them for both this week. We had a cookout for my sister's birthday today, so I figured why not make some extras for work! I was a little nervous about these, because I was making them for a group of her work friends who are vegan, and I was so scared they wouldn't like them. Am I the only one who gets nervous when I'm cooking for new people? Like I can handle criticism from my family, but I would hate to ruin the food for everyone at the party. But good news - everyone loved them! Such a relief haha. I hope you enjoy them as much as everyone else!


*yields 9 burgers*

Ingredients

3 cans of black beans

1 c of steamed corn

1 and 1/4 c Italian style breadcrumbs

1/3 c chunky salsa - drained (to clarify, you should have a full cup after it is drained)

1/2 tbsp garlic salt

1 tsp cumin

1 tsp pepper

1/2 a small red onion finely diced

Olive oil as needed


Instructions

1) Rinse and dry beans well

2) Add beans to a large bowl and mash with a potato masher, leaving it a little chunky for texture (if you do not have a potato masher, you can use a fork)

3) Add in steamed corn and diced onion and mix to combine well

4) Drain salsa using a fine mesh strainer, drain the salsa to remove all liquid

5) Add salsa to bowl and stir to combine

6) Add garlic salt, cumin, and pepper to mixture and mix to evenly distribute

7) Add in breadcrumbs and knead well (it is easiest to do this step using your hands, feel free to use gloves!)

8) Final step: you should have a thick, pasty texture perfect for forming into burgers... if it is too dry and falling apart, add in olive oil as needed to achieve the perfect texture!)

9) Form into burgers and cook on medium-high for 4-5 minutes on each side or until browned on each side (pro tip: if you are preparing these ahead of time for a party, throw them in the fridge until you are ready to cook so they stay firm. Also, we cooked them on the griddle so we weren't cooking on the same surface as the meat, but I think they would work fine on the grill.)


These are amazing topped with a cilantro-lime aioli and sliced avocado!


Enjoy!

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page