top of page
  • thechoppingblock

Chicken-Pesto Pasta

I was pleasantly surprised by this recipe. A couple weeks back, I tried the Lensi black bean pasta, and I was not impressed at all. I decided not to share it, because I only want to share recipes that I actually enjoy. I had such high hopes for this healthier alternative to a generic pasta, but I was let down. The pasta was so tough and dry, no amount of sauce could correct it. This time, I grabbed the Lensi yellow lentil pasta instead in hopes it would be different. Well good news, it was polar opposite! I made this recipe for my sister and I without telling her it was not traditional pasta, and she did not notice the difference, When I told her after, she was shocked. This pasta alternative contains a significantly lower amount of carbs while offering higher fiber and protein content, all while maintaining a nearly identical taste. It's a win-win!


Yields 4-5 servings

Ingredients

1 box Lensi yellow lentil pasta

1 package Trader Joe's chicken sausage (I used the sweet Italian style)

3 tbsp pesto

1/2 c milk

1/2 c mozzarella cheese

Olive oil

Garlic salt


Instructions

1) Boil water

2) Slice chicken sausage into 1/2 inch thick slices

3) Heat olive oil in a skillet on medium-high setting

4) Add pasta to boiling water and cook until al dente (approximately 8 minutes)

5) Add chicken sausage to skillet and brown on both sides

6) Drain pasta and return to pot

7) Add pesto, milk, and cheese to pot with pasta and reduce heat to medium

8) Season with garlic salt to taste

9) Once cheese is melted and pasta is coated, add chicken sausage


Enjoy!


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page