top of page
  • thechoppingblock

Avocado Toast and Eggs

I have been trying to switch things up with my avocado toast to see what I like and don't like, and I am here to say I loved this one! I have always been a huge fan of pumpernickel bread, so when I saw this at Trader Joe's, I threw it in my cart so fast. The flavor of this bread is so prominent and pairs so easily with other things. And good news, avocado is one of those things it pairs great with.


Ingredients

1/2 avocado

1 slice of pumpernickel bread - toasted

2 eggs

Salt & pepper

Lemon juice

Olive oil

Everything but the bagel seasoning


Instructions

1) Cut avocado in half and scoop out the side without the pit ***tip for preserving extra avocado: if possible, keep the pit in the side you want to save for later. The trick is to keep an air tight seal around the avocado. I do this by using either a plastic bag or saran wrap, and smoothing it down to the surface of the avocado. This ensures that no air can get to the avocado, and should keep it from turning brown! (you may notice a slight discoloration on the surface still, but simply slice or scrape the top layer off and you will have perfect green underneath!)***

2) Add a small amount of olive oil to a skillet and place the pan over medium-high heat

3) Thinly slice the avocado and spread across the toast evenly

4) Once the pan is heated, add two eggs to the pan. Cook for 2-3 minutes, flipping once (the trick is to cook just long enough to cook the whites, that way you can ensure the yolk will be runny)

5) Plate the toast and eggs side-by-side and season both with salt & pepper

6) Squeeze lemon juice over top of the toast and add everything but the bagel seasoning on top


Enjoy!


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page